Is Burger King A Good Option For Gluten-Free Fast Food?
Fast food is an industry built to satisfy people's cravings without fuss, but if you're one of the millions of Americans with celiac disease, gluten sensitivity, or a wheat allergy, these everyday restaurants can become minefields. As one of the country's top chains, Burger King is readily accessible to many people. Diners with dietary restrictions around wheat and gluten, however, may find themselves quite limited.
The good news is that Burger King is very open when it comes to customers requesting modifications on their orders (true to its "have it your way" branding). The menu offers a standard no carb option, which just means you can get your Whopper without a bun. This option is also available for its kid's meals for parents of children with gluten restrictions. However, it does not offer a gluten-free bun, so if a bun-less burger doesn't seem satisfying, you'll be stuck providing your own gluten-free bun.
All of the chicken and fish offerings at Burger King come with breading, so gluten-free mains are limited to burgers and Impossible burgers. Rodeo burgers also come with breaded onion rings, so diners will need to make sure they request those be left off. As for the breakfast menu, all the listed items contain wheat, so you're better off just ordering a coffee.
Gluten-free sides and options at Burger King
The french fries at Burger King are gluten-free, but the website makes clear that they are cooked in the same fryers as other items containing gluten (the above-mentioned onion-rings, for example). The risk of cross-contamination varies along with the diner's level of gluten intolerance. Those with a mild sensitivity may be just fine to order the fries while those with severe reactions may not be.
Onion rings, mozzarella sticks, and chicken fries are all off-limits, meaning that gluten-friendly sides are limited to french fries or applesauce. The menu in the U.S. does not include salads, and hasn't since 2022. If you're looking for something sweet, BK soft-serve ice cream is available in a cup, and there are also chocolate, strawberry, or vanilla shakes, although these are also prepared on the same equipment as the Oreo shakes.
Like other fast food chains, Burger King frequently introduces limited-time items, so there may be a few additional gluten-free options on temporary and promotional menus that aren't on the permanent menu. However, overall, BK isn't a great choice for anyone looking for a fully gluten-free meal.