Why Some Ice Cream Isn't Gluten-Free

A love of dessert is something so many of us share, whether it be a craving for a tart-sweet lemon meringue pie or some nostalgic and gooey chocolate chip cookies, but unfortunately, not everyone has the ability to indulge in some of the world's classic desserts. Those with gluten intolerance, which Healthline says can be caused by celiac disease, non-celiac gluten sensitivity, and wheat allergies, have various negative reactions (with differing levels of severity) after coming in contact with gluten, which is found in many desserts. Some people even become extremely ill and can be out of commission for days. That is why it is important for people with these dietary restrictions to find some safe, and delicious gluten-free dessert alternatives to satisfy their sweet tooth.

According to the Gluten Libre, some naturally gluten-free desserts are chocolate mousse, crème brulée, L'île flottante, rice pudding, panna cotta, meringue, and macaroons, but another classic dessert is ice cream! But here's the deal with ice cream, though the basic foundation for most ice creams is safe for gluten-intolerant folks (mostly just a mix of heavy cream and sugar), the fun and flavorful ingredients often added into ice creams are often not-so-safe.

There's a catch...

With gluten intolerance, it's always better to be safe than sorry. Those who have made the mistake of digging into a fresh carton of ice cream without reading the ingredients list or doing their research have lived to regret it. Ice cream can catch those with gluten intolerance off guard, they might be thinking that because their chocolate fudge sundae doesn't have anything like brownies or cookies in it, they are safe, but Beyond Celiac claims that depending on the ingredients used and how the ice cream is processed, some gluten might very well be lurking inside the cold treat. Even traditionally "safe" flavors like strawberry and vanilla might have additives like certain kinds of starches or flavorings that have traces of gluten. So, be careful and do some digging on the brand you'll be buying from.

Luckily, for those of you obsessed with Ben & Jerry's ice cream, the brand boasts a lot of gluten-free ice creams including Cherry Garcia, Phish Food, Chunky Monkey, Vanilla Caramel Fudge, Karamel Sutra Core, New York Super Fudge Chunk, Coffee BuzzBuzzBuzz, Vanilla, and Pistachio Pistachio. So, if you are looking for a dessert that is safe for gluten sensitivity or celiac disease to consume, look at some classic Ben & Jerry's flavors for a sweet spoonful.