Cut up stick of butter on parchment on dark wood surface
What To Look Out For When Picking Gluten-Free Butter Products
If you or someone in your family has a serious gluten intolerance that could lead to a medical emergency if they ingest it, you should be careful about the butter you buy.
Pure butter that’s made from churned milk is gluten-free, but some brands of butter also sell "butter spreads" or margarine, which may contain additives with gluten.
These butter substitutes are highly processed and made from various ingredients to mimic all-natural butter. To be safe, always check the label for gluten-containing ingredients.
Even some plain butter products might have gluten due to cross-contamination during production. This is also usually listed on the label, but double-check online as well.
You should avoid cross-contamination when cooking at home. It’s best to use a separate butter plate and butter knife when preparing food for those with allergies or Celiac disease.
If you’re eating out, don't hesitate to ask the staff about the butter they use in a dish that seems gluten-free. It may sound inconvenient, but you should never risk your health.