Photo taken in Birmingham, United Kingdom
Food - Drink
11 Types Of Whiskey Explained
Scotch Whisky
For a spirit to be labeled as scotch, it must come from Scotland, be aged a minimum of three years in a barrel, and be bottled at a minimum of 40% ABV. However, there are still many different styles of Scotch, hailing from regions such as Speyside, Lowland, Highland, Campbeltown, and more.
Single Malt and Blended
Scotland is always known for its single-malt whiskies, which are distilled at a single distillery using only water and malted barley. Canada, Japan, and Ireland are known for their blended whiskies, which mix malted barley with other grains, coloring, and ingredients, or blend a variety of single-malt whiskies.
What scotch is to Scotland, bourbon is to the United States. To be considered a bourbon, the mash that begins fermentation must contain at least 51% corn; be distilled using water with no additives; be aged for a minimum of two years in new, charred oak containers; and have at least 40% ABV when bottled.
Rye Whiskey
As bourbon was being made from corn in the south, immigrants in the north turned to rye. Rye whiskey must be aged for a minimum of two years in new, charred oak barrels, with nothing added but water, but unlike bourbon, the mash must contain at least 51% rye and the final drink must be at least 62% ABV.
Tennessee Whiskey
Technically a bourbon, Tennessee whiskey is made from 51% corn mash, aged in charred, new oak barrels, and bottled at 40% ABV. It is also filtered through sugar maple charcoal before aging and is made with a sour mash, meaning that spent mash from previous batches is incorporated into new batches.